Why I’m Happy in 21 Words

“Enjoyment appears at the boundary between boredom and anxiety, when the challenges are just balanced with the person’s capacity to act.”

~Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

 

Read that quote first ^^^.  If you’re anything like me, you skip over quote-y stuff, but this whole post is about the above quote, so just read it.

I hear some people struggle with one side of the spectrum – anxiety.  I, on the other hand, am perpetually bored. As a kid, I had a dog-eared paperback book with a title that went something like, “Things to Do When You’re Bored”.  I credit this book with teaching me all kinds of useful and useless activities, from entrepreneurial enterprises to stamp-collecting to making fireplace logs out of newspaper (I don’t recall my parents ever using our fireplace).  This book was the bible of my elementary school years.  I distinctly remember my mom saying things like, “When you’re a grown-up, you’re never bored.  You just have too much on your mind to be bored.”

So, I waited to grow up and be un-bored.  In college, I veered towards the anxious side of the charts, as I added on so many minors and credits and work study hours and RA activities in an effort to avoid boredom that I nearly lost my mind.   My harried life came to a halting stop when I suddenly graduated, got married and was unemployed.  Boredom set in big-time.

I’ve had a few jobs since then.  I was always miserable or bored to tears.  Somewhere in the middle of it all, I realized: I’d rather endure anything than be bored. Oh lord, anything but boredom.  

So, I started a business.  And then I started another business.  And then the businesses became successful, and now I’m running around like crazy.  And guess what?   There is so much enjoyment in this place and I’m soaking it up.  I like this balance between boredom and crazy.  Maybe I just like a challenge.  Got anything else for me to try?!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why I’m Happy in 21 Words

  1. Funny: a few years ago, at about this time in the opera season, a colleague of mine said wistfully, “I can’t wait to be BORED.” I always end up on the anxious end of the spectrum!

  2. Laurie Burke (yo' mamma)

    All I can say is…..you ARE your father’s daughter! In fact, come to think of it, it might be in your genes on both sides. ; )

Leave a Reply

