Broiler Pasture Shelter Plans

Last year in this post I said I would upload plans for building broiler shelters.  Well, funny thing happened…I got busy building and farming and stuff like that.  A year later, it took a blog reader to remind me that I never got around to uploading those plans.  Well, here they are!  I know a lot of people are interested in knowing how to build these, so I hope this is helpful.  All credit for this design goes to Joel Salatin of Polyface Farm and Tyler and Bradd Jones of Afton Field Farm.

For some pictures of the building process see my previous post .  If you have any questions that are not addressed here, let me know in the comments below.

One note about using PALRUF corrugated PVC : this stuff is on the spendy side, but I think it’s worth it. It’s much lighter than corrugated metal siding, and it is durable.   In our small town we could only find it at Home Depot.

I don’t appear to have saved a close-up picture of the dolly that is used for moving the pens.  I will take a picture of it (I really promise this time!)  and take note of the dimensions so that it can be replicated easily.  The dolly is the genius part of this whole project.  It allows a 120 lb woman like me to be able to move the shelters effortlessly.  (Granted, I can pull them without the dolly but it’s pretty backbreaking, as my chiropractor bill will attest.)

Without further ado, here is the link to the plans.  Go grow some chickens!

Broiler Shelter Plans 2011

6 Comments

Filed under Project Start a Farm

6 responses to “Broiler Pasture Shelter Plans

  1. Pingback: Broiler Pens | A Daring Adventure

  2. Andrew

    thanks for putting this up! very helpful. i’m looking forward to the dolly picture + dimensions…

  3. Hi, I just discovered your wonderful blog this weekend. Glad to find someone doing something similar, and admittedly on a much larger scale than I am at the moment.

    I must ask, where did you find the hanging waterer? I have not been able to find that design that seems to work so well with 5 gallon bucket reservoirs.

    Thanks for your wonderful blog and all the best to your farm!

    • Emily, you can buy the waterers from Kuhl Corp. They’ll send you a catalog and you can order directly from the manufacturer. I use their Bell-Matic Waterer and they’re $17.60 each.

  4. Chuck

    one side to rule them all…haha

  5. have you posted the dolly plans yet?

Leave a Reply

