Sheep

The plans are in the works for buying lambs, and I’m getting excited!  I grew up raising sheep, and despite my daydreams of rounding up cattle on horseback, wooly sheep still hold a special place in my heart.

Posing with "Champ" and the winning bidder at the 4-H Livestock Auction

I’m not sure why I love them so much.  There’s just something about those fuzzy little lambs…which quickly turn into pot-bellied bleaters like the one above.

Then they turn into fat paychecks, like the one about to be handed to me by the lady in the blue.  Bless her heart, for fostering those early teenage fantasies that I could do this farm thing for a living.

This year, we will just have weaned lambs which I’ll pasture-finish in the fall.  I am looking forward to starting my own breeding flock soon.  There’s nothing more fun than a crop of bouncing baby lambs in your field!

Here’s an interesting video, featuring John Neumeister of Cattail Creek Farm (just down the road, in Junction City).  He does a good job of describing his goals for high-quality, tasty lamb and for managing different species of livestock for pasture quality.

Leave a comment

Filed under Project Start a Farm

Leave a Reply

