Autumn at My Place

porch punkins

porch punkins

Despite the often drizzly, dreary days that autumn brings to Western Oregon, I am always romanced by the glory of fall.

Nearly every year, I find myself surprised at the rapid onset of rain and with it, the changing colors of the deciduous trees.  Wasn’t it jump-in-the-sprinkler, barbecue-a-burger summer just a few short minutes ago?

I attribute much of this confusion to my childhood on the Oregon Coast.  I grew up smack-dab in the middle of a Douglas Fir forest, where the colors never varied from your standard, run of the mill evergreen.  Aside from annually shedding a pile of fircones on the lawn, the trees just never really changed that much.

fog droplet

fog droplet

I remember driving Highway 20 to the Valley with my family, as a kid.  In the fall, around the time we hit the metropolis of Eddyville, we would start exclaiming, “look at the trees!  Check out that bright orange one up there on the hill!”   Fall was a novelty to us.

This year, I’m particularly enjoying autumn.  Maybe it’s the fact that I’m outdoors much more, or that I’ve moved to a new home resplendant with the bounty of the season.

I went on a little stroll around our new property the other day to share my view with you.  Hope you enjoy the colors as much as I do.

a mushroom after the rainfall

a mushroom after the rainfall

recollections of childhood

recollections of childhood

hedgerow pears

hedgerow pears

our backyard

our backyard

pears and lichen

pears and lichen

3 Comments

Filed under Anecdotes

3 responses to “Autumn at My Place

  1. Laurie Burke

    I CANNOT wait to see it and enjoy it first hand. Looks lovely!!! 😀

  2. Love all the photos! They are perfect representations of the beauty of fall 🙂 Good job!

  3. Heather

    You write so beautifully! I felt like I was reading an article from my MS Living magazine. We can’t wait to see you tomorrow. Lots of love.

Leave a Reply

