Canning Mania

Having recently moved to a new house on acreage with a tiny orchard, I’ve been newly inspired to preserve some of the autumn bounty.

I have zero experience in canning and until recently have had zero desire to try it.

That’s why God gives us friends.

Alicia & Bula the Gargoyle Dog

Alicia & Bula the Gargoyle Dog

Alicia and I decided we’d tackle this intimidating canning thing together.  So we made a list of 85 varieties of sauces, jams, chutneys and conserves that we wanted to make, and set to work harvesting and canning.

apple bounty

apple bounty

Rule number one of canning:  have some good company because you’re going to be working all day. Alicia and I canned for 12 hours straight.  I’ll be honest:  we were a little nutty by the end of the night.

coring

coring

I’m sure our great-grandmothers would have laughed to have seen us scrambling around the kitchen forgetting to set timers and figuring out how to use this thing.  It was a circus.

heating lids

heating lids

The applesauce tasted divine and our jars sealed properly, so I count the day as a success.

cooking apples

cooking apples

I would definitely do it again.  I just need a few days break.

Besides…we’ve got 84 other kinds of preserves to make.  We can’t stop now!

3 Comments

Filed under Anecdotes

3 responses to “Canning Mania

  1. > I’ll be honest: we were a little nutty by the end of the night.

    I can attest to that! 😉

  2. Laurie Burke

    Woohoo! Now, I’m definitely staying at your house for Thanksgiving!! 🙂

  3. It’s always great to can with friends!! Best of luck on the next 84 kinds of preserves 🙂

Leave a Reply

