Trailer Mayhem

Remember when those trailers we drove to Eugene to pick up?  You can read about them here.  Well, they were a bit of a nightmare.

A simple little trip to pick up two trailers for chicken coops, turned out to be a lot more work than it appeared.  This is where all those Physics 201 lectures came in handy.  [See kids, even farmers need college educations.]  Through the use of various levers, ramps, come-alongs, chains and brute force we managed to get the small trailer loaded on top of the big trailer.

Like so:

Three hours later...

Three hours later...

Then we hauled the stinking things to Corvallis and deposited them in my field and said:

Good Riddance.

They look so innocuous

They look so innocuous

Only that wasn’t the end of it.

We still had to get them unstacked.  Oh yeah, you think it looks easy.   I’m here to tell you otherwise.

Towing the trailers apart

Towing the trailers apart

That little trailer did not want to roll off.  In fact, it got completely tangled up on the frame of the one below it.

Through the use of various levers, ramps, come-alongs, chains and brute force we managed to get the small trailer unloaded off the big trailer. Friggin’ physics problems.

free at last

free at last

After finally getting trailers separated, I would like to tell you that I jumped for joy and hugged my hard-working husband.  But I didn’t, not at first.

I burst out of the pickup cab and flew at the trailers and kicked them.  And then I said a few choice words.

And then I felt better.

No trailer can beat me!

Trailer Conquerer

Just in case you’re wondering (Keith was), after all that, I do still want to farm.  I just don’t want to re-enact that little trailer scenario again anytime soon, thank you very much.

1 Comment

Filed under Project Start a Farm

One response to “Trailer Mayhem

  1. Danae

    Hey nice blue sky…funny what cameras are capable of… 😉

Leave a Reply

