Field Walk

The field I’m leasing has pretty crummy fences.  Actually, they are more or less non-existent.

This photo shows one of the best sections of fence, so it’s pretty clear that this fence ain’t keep the cows in.

old fence

old fence

This current state of affairs resulted in today’s project which was determining the perimeter length and estimating the cost of materials for a new fence.

So I borrowed one of these new-fangled contraptions and set to work.

measuring wheel

measuring wheel

I think I picked the hottest day in the past month to walk around the back forty, but it sure was pretty out there.  I brought my camera along so I could share the beauty with you.

long hike out to the back forty

long hike out to the back forty

Ok, well maybe I’m like a new mother who thinks her baby is the cutest baby ever born. So humor me in thinking my field is nice.

under the oak tree

under the oak tree

In my wandering, I discovered that I have some sort of pear tree (Seckel pears?) growing in the hedgerow.  The ripe, ping-pong ball sized pears were pretty yummy.

round pears

round pears

It turns out it takes a while to push a little measuring wheel around 45 acres.  My field is really rutted in places, and the grass is long along the edges where the hay mower didn’t reach.  It felt like I was trying to maneuver a doll stroller around the field.   I’m glad I’m done with that little exercise, especially since it was over 90 degrees out.

After I measured the whole stinking field (minus the acres of blackberries, which I had to guess on) I flopped down in the shade of my trailers, put my feet up, and thought about how on earth we are going to get those trailers untangled from one another.

Stay tuned for more on that saga.

kicking back

kicking back

1 Comment

Filed under Project Start a Farm

One response to “Field Walk

  1. Pingback: Been Out Riding Fences « A Daring Adventure

Leave a Reply

