Caipirinhas Are Calling Your Name

Allow me to introduce you to my favorite drink.

IMG_2070

I was first introduced to the Caipirinha at sidewalk dessert fondue place, near the hotel in NYC where my mom and I stayed in 2007.

I didn’t know how to pronounce Caipirinha at the time, but I knew I liked it.

Love at first sight.

BFFs forever.

Me and the Caipirinha.

I think everyone in the world should enjoy Caipirinhas.  Thanks Brazil, for sharing.

Here ya go:

IMG_2055

Assemble your ingredients.

You’ll need:

A bottle of  Cachaça (pronounched Ka-Sha-Sa), a Brazilian liquor similar to white rum

Superfine sugar

Tahitian limes

Crushed ice

Frosted glass

Cocktail shaker

IMG_2053

Step One: Cut the lime in half and cut out the pith.  I used Mexican limes, but in my experience, the rounder Tahitian limes are better in this drink.

IMG_2054

Step Two: Flip the lime over and slice it lengthwise, like a little armadillo

IMG_2057

Step Three: Throw the limes in the glass and add two tablespoons of superfine sugar.

IMG_2058

Step Four: With a pestle or the butt end of a wooden spoon, muddle the sugar and the limes together.

IMG_2063

Step Five:  After the limes (and you) are thoroughly muddled, fill the glass with ice.  Then add two 1 oz shots of Chachaça to the mix.

IMG_2065

Step Six: Slide the cocktail shaker over the glass, and shake it thoroughly.

IMG_2070
Step Seven:  Get it all back into the glass, turn up the samba music, and relax!

Leave a comment

Filed under Anecdotes

Leave a Reply

