(Almost) a Quarter-Century

In 6 days, I’ll be 25 years old.  25!  Now I can start having quarter-life crises (or maybe I already had one, and that’s why I’m abandoning conventionality and starting a farm). Now I can rent cars.  Now I can get a cheaper rate on my car insurance, ’cause now I’m all kinds of responsible.  Now I can look up from my book and see 30 looming in my face.  Aaaghh!

The best thing that has happened to me so far (and I haven’t even had my birthday yet), are the big packages that keep arriving on my doorstep from my Mommy.  In the first one, I got this:

Photo 81

Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy, by Lynley Dodd!  This was one of the best children’s books I had, growing up  in New Zealand!

The next package contained these:

Photo 83

Family Friendly Farming and Salad Bar Beef, by Joel Salatin

And more adventures of Hairy Maclary in Slinky Malinki and Hairy Maclary Scattercat.

And this:

Photo 86

You Can Farm by Joel Salatin.    Complete with yours truly in a cowboy hat and a sundress.  Quintessential me.

And last, but not least:

Photo 84

The Good Neighbors!!  Remember them?!

Thanks Mom!  Also, thanks for taking all those daily walks, abstaining from coffee and chocolate chip cookies, and devouring all those What to Expect when You’re Expecting books 25 years ago.  It must have worked, cuz I’m still alive to see a quarter of a century.

Leave a comment

Filed under Anecdotes

Leave a Reply

