The Inconstant Gardener

What should I put in these pots?

img_1157

They’re last weekend’s Craigslist score, and I really want to plant something in them.  But I don’t know what.  I need suggestions.

You may want to think long and hard about your answer, though.  If you suggest a plant that you’ll want to come see next time you’re over and remark on its progress, you may want to spare yourself the pain.  I love flowers, but I tend to kill them.  I don’t know why.  Well, maybe I do.

Take these primroses for example:

img_1158

They look poorly and I don’t know what to do!  It got hot this weekend and I watered them, I did. I think.  They do look a little dry, like they could use some water.  I’ll get right on that…

See that tulip in the pot picture? Here it is again:

img_11571

Every year this tulip comes up and blooms gloriously.  I did not plant it.  I do not water it.  As it emerges, there are always slug bites on it and every year I say, “I should put some slug bait around that tulip.” But I never do.  It always comes up, and it is always beautiful.

Maybe I should get me some more tulips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Anecdotes

Leave a Reply

