Beetle Juice

Should you ever travel to Africa, beware the mighty blister beetle.  I’m telling you this from first-hand experience.  Not that I have been to Africa recently (or ever, for that matter), but I did pay a trip to the doctor’s office this week.  Evidently there are two Doctor-Recommended manners of wart removal.

1.  Duct Tape.  (I would like to point out that I also received this information free of charge from Danae who is in no way a medical professional.)

2. Beetle Juice.

I chose the Beetle Juice.  I mean, really, who wouldn’t?  Dr. P duly painted my knee with Goop while charming me with details about African Blister Beetles. A couple hours later, I got the message loud and clear:  those puppies are potent. I am blogging to you with blisters the size of Whoppers on my knee.  I know, I know…probably more than you cared to know.  But it’s pretty fascinating to be honest.  Who knew a beetle could take my wart off?  History also shows that they’ve been used for centuries as an aphrodisiac but judging from my current Knee-Situation I would not recommend it.

black_blister_beetle

6 Comments

Filed under Anecdotes

6 responses to “Beetle Juice

  1. Danae

    Well, I wouldn’t say “in NO WAY is a medical professional”….
    obviously, I know my stuff…

  2. Laurie

    I would have chosen the Whoopers, myself. And, oh my gosh, where HAVE I been–they seriously make peanut butter Whoopers????!!! Those sounds a LOT better than beetle juice any day!
    Oh yeah…and…you poor baby…sorry ’bout your knee. Haven’t you had that wart for a looonnnnggg time? You’ll miss it.

  3. Danae

    Whats Mom high on?! I have no idea what shes talking about…

  4. Those things were way bigger than a whopper! But you are still as beautiful as ever!

  5. Been looking for something like this, love the layout of your site, will be back

Leave a Reply

