Back to the Pool

Me circa 1994 at the Tall Timber League finals meet in Junction City.

Me circa 1994 at the Tall Timber League finals meet in Junction City, representing the Toledo Swim Club.  Check out those sweet rainbow goggles!

In such times as these, I’m glad my parents signed me up for swim team as a little squirt.  I spent a good ten years swimming laps between the ages of 7 and 17.  It was my first sport and my first love.

Since joining the running camp, I’ve sort of given up swimming for the past few years.  However, now that my foot hurts every time I lace up my running shoes, I’ve been motivated to jump back in the pool.  Fortunately the Philomath pool is less than a mile from my house so I can easily bike there.  So I have been getting up early for their twice-weekly 6 a.m. lap swim times and putting in a few thousand yards before heading back to do chores at the farm.

The funny thing about swimming laps at the Philomath pool is that I used to race at meets there as a kid.  Our summer league competed there and my high school swim team as well. Back then, the pool bottom was painted nasty yellow and the facility was windowless, ugly space.  We always dreaded meets at Philomath.  They have installed a lot more windows in the last 10 years, thank goodness.

While I’m in marathon shape, I am definitely out of swimming condition.  It’s such good exercise though, and a good reminder why I had such strong arms and shoulders in high school.  I hope to keep swimming even once my doctor clears me to run again.  Hey, maybe I’ll do another triathlon if I ever get the time!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Anecdotes

4 responses to “Back to the Pool

  1. Laurie Burke (yo' mamma)

    I truly forgot how darling you were! xoxoxo
    However, one thing you forgot that came with the Junction City meet each year….camping with the Neimanns at Alsea River! We even celebrated your birthday there one year. : ) Good times….

  2. Those were the best birthdays! I think you made me a swimming pool cake with blue jello for the water and candy necklaces for the lane lines, remember? Pretty impressive that you made that cake and brought it on a camping trip!

  3. nice! I’ve been swimming more lately too after finding a pretty good masters group in eugene. hope your foot feels better soon!

    • That’s awesome, Jenni! I don’t think we have a masters group in Philomath, but I’d be really tempted to join if we did. Swimming by yourself is relaxing but I miss the camaraderie and competition of swimming with a team.

Leave a Reply

